Wednesday, October 21, 2009

underworld to unleash compilation

Underworld has compiled a new collection, Underworld vs. The Misterons - Athens, due for release via the !K7 label on Nov. 24. Collaborators Darren Price and Steven Hall contribute (thus the addition of The Misterons to the title, I'm guessing) to what is being billed as an eclectic, jazzy experience. It doesn't appear that the compilation, the first in a series for !K7, is DJ-mixed or sequenced.

The long-player features music from Underworld itself, Carl Craig, Lauren Garnier, Squarepusher, Roxy Music and a previously unreleased collaboration between Underworld's Karl Hyde and Brian Eno ("Beebop Hurry"). Hyde also painted the cover art.

“The overall mood is jazz and improvisation,” Underworld states. “There is very little playing in a lot of people’s records in the dance and DJ world these days, but one thing Underworld have always liked is musicianship. It doesn't stop us loving machine music and house music and everything that goes with it, but the idea with this album was to highlight records we liked that we thought had great live playing on them.”

The track list:

01 Alice Coltrane Journey In Satchidananda feat. Pharoah Sanders
02 Mahavishnu Orchestra You Know, You Know
03 Squarepusher Theme From Sprite
04 Soft Machine Penny Hitch
05 Roxy Music 2HB
06 Detroit Experiment Space Odyssey
07 Moodyman Rectify
08 Osunlade The Promise
09 Underworld Oh
10 Laurent Garnier Gnanmankoudji (Broken-Afro Mix)
11 Miroslav Vitous New York City
12 Brian Eno & Karl Hyde Beebop Hurry (EXCLUSIVE UNRELEASED TRACK)

Add to Google
Thanks for making danceblogga a top 5 destination for dance music news on Google.

No comments: