Thursday, February 19, 2009

the crystal method unveils album details

The Crystal Method today officially unveiled details about its forthcoming long-player, Divided By Night, which is due May 12 via Tiny e Records. The lead single, "Drown in the Now," features Jewish ragga rapper Matisyahu.

"We met Matisyahu at a festival in British Columbia last July," TCM's Scott Kirkland states. "His tour manager approached us about him joining us onstage for a song and we thought it was a cool idea. He came by our trailer and we played him 'High Roller' off Vegas [the duo’s 1997 album] and he thought it was great. He came out with us about an hour later and his performance was magical. From there we knew we wanted to work with him. He delivered something unique that helped create a great vibe for the rest of the album."

Justin Warfield, Peter Hook and more also contribute to the album. And the breakbeat duo's appearance at Coachella April 17 is being billed as its first live gig in five years. It will help kick off a spring tour that has the pair performing on electronic gear live. Here's the track list:

1. Divided By Night
2. Dirty Thirty (featuring Peter Hook)
3. Drown in the Now (featuring Matisyahu)
4. Kling to the Wreckage (featuring Justin Warfield)
5. Smile?
6. Sine Language (featuring LMFAO)
7. Double Down Under
8. Come Back Clean (featuring Emily Haines)
9. Slipstream (featuring Jason Lytle)
10. Black Rainbows (featuring Stefanie King Warfield)
11. Blunts & Robots (featuring Peter Hook)
12. Falling Hard (featuring Meiko)
13. Play for Real (B Side) (featuring The Heavy)

Add to Google


Anonymous said...

Source for this info?

D said...

A statement from the band, emailed to me.